Psalm from the Night

I read the #BigRead14 reading yesterday and found “Psalm of the Dawn” written by Stephen Cherry very moving. I was aware of the hope it offered and the assurance of the company of God, but I am aware that there are times when, being me, things don’t feel so bright. So I wanted to write something of the darkness that some of us can inhabit from time to time. I am afraid it is not a polished offering, but I hope it makes some sense. 

I wake before the dawn after the night stole more sleep than it gave;

my body inhabits the tomb that is cushioned but brings no restful escape.

Your dawn is preserved for others, who awaken after resurrection;

I live in the Saturday that is undisturbed by hope.

Time slows, oh God! Do you play tricks?

Slowing, even turning back the clock; suspending me in this darkness?

Midnight is a turgid impersonation of black without you.

Waken me not to the vacuous darkness but to the sun; that I may see as I am seen.

I do not deny your dawn. I long to feel it warm my heart.

I know the darkness cannot master the light.

But, I resent the patience I cannot practice

waiting for it to seep through to my eyes.

Image

Leave a comment